All tenderloins, all the time.

The finest food known to man

The Ice House, Indianapolis, Indiana

I was invited to the Ice House by a friend who had been here several years ago, and remembered the tenderloin as excellent, so we made arrangements to meet him for lunch.
The Ice House is located just south of downtown, along the river, in an old Ice House.  It’s a VERY cool place, with a family dining side, and a 21 or over side.  The walls are decorated with everything from international flags to old neon advertising signs, and one could spend several hours inside just looking at all the stuff on the walls.

The menu is pretty much standard bar fare, with burgers, steaks, wraps, and a little bit of everything else.

The breaded tenderloin is featured right in the center of the menu, and it’s advertised as “hand breaded and hand cubed”.   That caught my attention right away.  After my last tenderloin, which was less than stellar, I was really for a real, honest to goodness, hand breaded Hoosier tenderloin.

What I got, instead, was a frozen pork fritter.  yes, it was big, as advertised, but it was NOT the sandwich pictured on the menu, which was a wonderfully misshapen, hand breaded piece of meat.  This was something I could have purchased at the local supermarket and it would’ve been just as good.

It was cooked well  (as well as you can cook a pork fritter) but it was not the tenderloin advertised, nor was it the one that my friend remembered.

Since the menu proudly proclaims a “hand breaded, hand cubed” tenderloin, and this one was not, I can’t give it any higher than a 1 out of 5 bites.  It’s edible, but that’s about it.

The Ice House breaded tenderloin sells for $7.95, and that includes chips.  Fries  (which were excellent, by the way), will set you back another $1.25.

I like the atmosphere here, and everything else on the menu seems fine, and we’ll go back.  We’ll just try something else and pass on the tenderloin.
The Ice House is located at 2352 S West Street in Indianapolis.

February 1, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

14 Comments »

  1. Sorry, dude, but that sandwich is WAY too round.

    Comment by Dixie Diamond | February 1, 2010 | Reply

  2. Yep. Hand breaded and hand cubed my arse. :)

    Comment by thetenderloinconnoisseur | February 1, 2010 | Reply

    • I was there last summer and had a real tenderloin then – that’s a shame if that is what they are putting out now. Thanks for the warning!

      Comment by dave | February 1, 2010 | Reply

  3. You’re welcome. Maybe they decided to cut costs…but I’m sure it’ll make them lose some repeat business!

    Comment by thetenderloinconnoisseur | February 1, 2010 | Reply

  4. I could tell from the pic….EPIC FAIL!!!! I almost would be tempted to send it back and get something else. Know how bad a fritter is and how good a tenderloin is…they is a shame..

    Comment by WIBIA | February 2, 2010 | Reply

  5. I’ve had a REAL tenderloin there several times in the past and what you have pictured is NOT what I had!! Sad to see they have lowered their standards. Hopefully they had a short term glitch from their provider and rectify the situation asap! Also, unless they have changed their situation, this is an adult only establishment.

    Comment by Ryan R. | February 16, 2010 | Reply

    • You know, I’ve heard that from several folks. And thanks so much for the 21 and over thought…although, I’m unsure why they have a room for “family dining”….thanks for dropping by!

      Comment by thetenderloinconnoisseur | February 16, 2010 | Reply

    • we called yesterday and they said you have to be 18 to get in

      Comment by Kassie J Bennett | September 15, 2011 | Reply

  6. http://www.ibj.com/dining-ice-house-offers-cold-comfort/PARAMS/article/19361
    Something seems off here!!! The IBJ said that it was hand cut tenderloin. Hmm… Either way, if anyplace will lower their standards to serve a pork friter, I will never eat there.

    Comment by wibia | April 27, 2010 | Reply

  7. On another note, the Mushroom and Mozzerella is amazing! Highly recommended by this guy.

    Comment by Josh | August 26, 2010 | Reply

  8. I worked at the Ice house for a few years, and let me tell you nothing there is hand made. They precook almost everything they serve during lunch (that is how the food comes out so fast).

    Comment by foodfan13 | April 18, 2011 | Reply

  9. one thing I will add is the grilled tenderloin is hand cut and cubed. Also they had to go over 21 because the owner choose to keep the place a smoking bar. The family dining use to be the non-smoking section of the restaurant. I guess I forgot about the grilled tend. on my last post.

    Comment by foodfan13 | April 18, 2011 | Reply

  10. Howdy are using WordPress for your site platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and set up my own. Do you need any coding expertise to make your own blog? Any help would be really appreciated!

    Comment by Kenda Munz | May 28, 2011 | Reply

  11. we are goin there this sunday for my fiances 21st bday. we called and they said its 18 and over,

    Comment by Kassie J Bennett | September 15, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

