All tenderloins, all the time.

The finest food known to man

Claude and Annie’s, Fishers, Indiana

Claude and Annie’s is a pub/restaurant that has 4 locations around Indianapolis.  I’d visited Claude and Annie’s several times before, for music and other events, but I’d never sampled their tenderloin, as they were usually late night visits where I opted for desert while listening to the music.

This week found us at Claude and Annie’s on the north side for a music event, and we decided to go early and have dinner.

Claude and Annie’s on the northside is a HUGE place, but it doesn’t show it from the outside.  From the outside, it looks like a typical, small, strip mall pub.  Once you enter, you’ll see a large pool and game room, two dining rooms, a nicely appointed bar and a nice stage area.   They feature live entertainment, including karaoke, bands,  an open stage,  jam session, and poker tourney.  Unlike several northside pubs I’ve visited,  the atmosphere is very down home and friendly.  The service is the same way…our server greeted us in a friendly manner, and was attentive without hovering over us.

I was their to sample their breaded tenderloin, of course.  I noticed that on the menu they offer the option of a second bun with this sandwich so you can share it…and unless you’ve got a VERY hearty appetite, this is probably a good idea, as you can see!

Now, my thought is that bigger is NOT always better…sometimes, quality drops when size increases, but this is certainly not the case with Claude and Annie’s.  The breading was very tasty and crisp, and bit more flaky than many tenderloins I’ve sampled.  I liked this particular breading quite a lot….certainly better than the standard breading that most restaurants use on their tenderloins.

The mean was nice and moist.  It wasn’t quite as tender as some I’d sampled, but still it was above average and VERY tasty.  I did, however, encounter a piece of gristle in the meat, which will drop the rating a bit.  I realize that not every tenderloin will have this piece in it, but mine did, and this is the one being reviewed.

The sandwich was served promptly and  the condiments were brought exactly as ordered, and there were plenty of them.  A detail that some restaurants seem to forget…kudos to them for being so attentive!

Claude and Annie’s breaded tenderloin is a bargain.  It sells for $6.99, and that includes chips.  For $1-$2 more, you can substitute various side items.  I chose the onion chips, and they were OUTSTANDING.  If you’re an onion lover, I highly recommend them as a side.

If I didn’t get a piece of gristle, and if the meat had been a touch more tender, this tenderloin would certainly get a 5 out of 5.  However,  those two things will drop my rating to a 4.2 out of 5.  It’s well above average an well worth the trip to the north side to get it.
Claude and Annie’s is located at the corner of 141st and State Road 37 in Fishers.  You can visit their website here.

February 19, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Doesn’t look bad at all. Glad to see a few good reviews in a row, I was getting worried for a while.

    We actually have a tenderloin review coming up. I think that you will dig it.

    Comment by WIBIA | February 19, 2010 | Reply

  2. I know! I was on such a roll of lousy tenderloins for a while!

    I anxiously await your review!

    Comment by thetenderloinconnoisseur | February 20, 2010 | Reply

  3. I ran across this site by accident. My dad is a huge tenderloin fan as well and found a good mom & pop diner in the middle of nowhere while we were mushroom hunting. I think it was called lick skillet (greasy skillet) but it had such the odd name. In Wilber, south of Mooresville/Martinsville off highway 39 then to the west off 142 somewhere… out there…

    Comment by Deanna | March 29, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers

