All tenderloins, all the time.

The finest food known to man

Grindstone Charley’s, Indianapolis (Speedway), Indiana

I’ve been to Grindstone Charley’s a few times for group outings, but, for some reason, I’ve never tried the tenderloin there.

This restaurant is one of many that have been on my list to try, recommendations from friends and blog readers, that I’m slowly working through.  I’ve actually been avoiding Grindstone Charley’s because of my perception of it being a national chain restaurant, and my experience with those has been less than stellar.  Many of them…Applebee’s, Chili’s, O’Charley’s, etc, seem to be cookie cutter versions of each other with little character and somewhat bland food.

Grindstone Charlie’s is actually part of the regional Clancy’s chain, with Charlie’s having 8 locations in Indiana.  They have a quite full menu, ranging from salads to sandwiches to steaks and about everything in between.

Tuesday found us headed to the west side of Indianapolis for a music gig, so we did a  spur of the moment visit to Grindstone Charley’s.  The sign on the building proudly proclaims the world’s best tenderloin, and, upon being seated, the tenderloin is the feature picture on the front of the menu.

So, did it live up to all the hype?

I’m happy to report that it did.  When the waiter brought my sandwich, it looked just as tasty as the picture on the menu,and it certainly was! The meat was nice, juicy, and tender, and the breading was flaky, crispy, and flavorful.  A cornmeal based breading, it perfectly complimented the tenderness and taste of the meat without overwhelming it.

The bun was buttered and toasted, with just enough butter to add even another layer of flavor on this already outstanding sandwich.

I ordered my sandwich, as always, with onion, mayo, and ketchup on the side, and as you can see, there are plenty of condiments and they were served as I ordered them.

Grindstone Charley’s breaded tenderloin sells for $8.59 and that includes French fries or slaw, or for $1.00 more you can opt for their “signature onion rings”.  I chose the fries and they were quite good.

So, to recap:  a great cut of meat.  Tasty breading.  Nicely toasted, buttered bun.  Served as ordered.  Grindstone Charley’s breaded tenderloin gets a 5 out of 5 bites, as good as it gets.

Holly had lemon pepper whitefish which was very good, and I have to give kudos to our server, who was pleasant and attentive without hovering over us.

I’ve not really been a steady customer of Grindstone Charley’s in the past, but with an experience like this…I will be!

We visited the location at 5828 Crawfordsville Road in Indianapolis.  You can view their website and find their other locations here.

March 3, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. I have a Grindstone Charleys tenderloin every Friday night before the Indy 500 Race at our annual Class of ’62 Speedway High School reunion. Over the years they have improved a great deal. I think in part because tenderloins have enjoyed sort of a renaissance in importance and the competition between restaurants featuring them has become more intense. It’s a pride thing.

    Comment by Davydd | March 19, 2010 | Reply

  2. Reading your blog made me very, very hungry. I am headed to GC soon.

    Comment by Danas Indianapolis Indiana News | June 5, 2010 | Reply

  3. My Mom and I frequent the Grindstone Charleys on Rockville Rd. east of the Interstate on Mondays or Tuesdays to take advantage of the 2 Tenderloins for $9.99 coupon special. I take mine grilled, Mom likes fried. Both are wonderfully delicious. I’ve yet to have one better than this, except for the tenderloins w/ cream gravy at Gray Brother’s in Mooresville.

    Comment by Steve C | June 9, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers

