All tenderloins, all the time.

The finest food known to man

Carol’s Cornerstone Restaurant, Greenfield, Indiana

Carol’s is your typical small town restaurant.  Heavy on comfort foods…good, friendly service…lots and lots of stuff hanging on the walls and displayed on various shelves, it’s like a step back in time.
I particularly enjoyed the antique lunch box collection that was displayed.  Of course, atmosphere helps a restaurant, but it’s the food that we’re there for.

Carol’s Cornerstone Cafe’ has burgers, meatloaf, noodles, stuffed peppers, and more.  They proudly display signs advertising “Hand Breaded Tenderloins” both inside and outside the restaurant.
And, of course, that’s what I chose.  And, it’s what Holly also chose.  In this case, it’s a good thing we both chose the same dish.

The tenderloin looked pretty darn good.  It obviously IS hand breaded.  For me, the size was perfect…a big, hearty sandwich, but not so large as to be overwhelming.
The bun is fresh and nicely toasted.  The breading, while good, is nothing to really write home about.  Yes, it’s good, but it lacks a “wow” factor.
The problem with my sandwich was the meat.  It was dry, tough, and…pretty much tasteless.  It took some effort to bite through it, and the flavor was just not there.

I told Holly that, and she offered me a bite of hers. It was like a totally different sandwich.  The meat was noticeably more tender and flavorful.  Not top of the line, but, much, much better.

But, I was here to review the sandwich that was brought to me.  The breading was average, and the meat was quite a bit below average.
I’m going to give it a 2 out of 5 bites…I’d certainly not order it again if I were to visit Carol’s again.

Let me say that I WILL visit Carol’s again.  I did enjoy the atmosphere quite a lot, and everything else on the menu looked very good.
The prices are quite reasonable – the sandwich and fries are $6.95, and the service was very, very good.  I’ll visit Carol’s again…I’ll just pass on the tenderloin.

Carol’s Cornerstone Cafe’ is located at 301 East Main Street in Greenfield, Indiana.  They offer live music on the weekends, this past weekend it was Bluegrass on Friday night and Elvis on Saturday night.

July 26, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. [...] Carol's Cornerstone Restaurant, Greenfield, Indiana « All … [...]

    Pingback by Carol's Cornerstone Restaurant, Greenfield, Indiana « All … | Indiana | July 26, 2010 | Reply

  2. I wish I’d known of this place as I was wheeling through Greenfield. I’ll have to remember it! Thanks!

    Comment by Richard | July 26, 2010 | Reply

  3. Indianapolis Monthly is trying to steal your gig! The new issue has a big article on tenderloins in Indy. Your site is still better, keep up the great work.

    Comment by Dan | July 27, 2010 | Reply

  4. If you want a great tenderloin in Greenfield, I recommend Patsy’s Jumbo Tenderloin at the Frosty Mug on Apple Street, across from Riley Park.

    Comment by aroundindy | September 6, 2010 | Reply

  5. The service, atmosphere, prices, and home style food is outstanding here. We love this place. We recommend the breakfast. Biscuits and gravy are wonderful. I definitely recommend the club as a lunch option. Thank you Carol’s for great food and service

    Comment by Mike & Jenny | September 7, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

