All tenderloins, all the time.

The finest food known to man

Bearcats Restaurant, Indianapolis

One of the very best things of doing what I do is stumbling upon those undiscovered treasures that few people seem to know about.  It happened to me last night, and I’m glad I did.

I was vaguely familiar with The Stutz Building, located at 10th and Senate in Indianapolis.  A lovely old building that now houses apartments, art studios, first Friday events, and Bearcats restaurant.

I knew that there was a restaurant here, but had no idea what it was called, nor did I have any idea what was on their menu.  I was attending an event at Bearcats and it was an overwhelmingly positive experience.

Since I had no idea what kind of food they had, and I couldn’t find a menu online, I was totally unprepared to do a review.  However, upon arriving, I saw that someone else had a breaded tenderloin, so I knew I had to do a review.

The owner of the restaurant gets major points for jumping right in and waiting tables and taking care of a large group.   Other restaurant owners should take a hint from this kind of service.

 

The menu advertises that their tenderloins are cut fresh every day and hand breaded, and this was certainly the case.  The meat was tender, moist, and juicy, and was a more than ample serving. More than that, they’re not pounded paper thin…it’s rather like a nice pork chop.

The breading was top notch.  Was it the best breading I’ve ever had? No, not quite.  But it was still very, very good.  Crunchy and crisp and it stayed that way throughout the life of the sandwich.

I asked for my normal condiments,   (Ketchup, Mayo, Onion) and the server advised me that all condiments are served on the side, which is fine with me.

The bun was nice and fresh, and well toasted…actually, toasted just a bit more than is my preference.  It wasn’t objectionable by ANY means…just a bit more toasted than I’m used to.

The price?  This sandwich is a bargain.  $7.99, and that includes fries  (my favorite kind of fries…shoestring!) AND cole slaw, which was quite tasty, if just a tad bland.

I’ve had a few hours to think about this sandwich, and I’m going to give it a 4.5 out of 5 bites.  It falls just short of the hall of fame, but it is worth driving across town for.

Bearcats is located at 1055 N Senate in Indianapolis.  I found out after the fact that they DO have a website, and that is http://www.bearcatsindy.net.

November 12, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I found out after the fact that they DO have a website, and that is http://www.bearcatsindy.net.

    Comment by aoneled | February 22, 2011 | Reply

  2. The whole menu is that good top to bottom. I must take exception though,, a Tim Reuter (the owner) tenderloin is always 5 out of 5.

    Comment by Jeff Indianapolis | September 18, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

