All tenderloins, all the time.

The finest food known to man

The Pawn Shop, Indianapolis.

The Pawn Shop pub has been on my list to try for quite some time now, recommended by friends.  The holiday season has been quite busy for us, but things are slowing down now, and it’s time to get the reviews rolling again!

Those of you who have been around Indy for a while might remember the Pawn Shop from when it was up on College Avenue…I believe it was where Binkley’s is presently located.  I had visited there once or twice, but that’s been 20 or more years ago, and I honestly don’t remember much about it.

Located on 54th, just West of Keystone, the Pawn Shop is located in an old fast food restaurant building, but upon stepping inside, it has the feel of a bar that has been there forever.  They obviously have a lot of regulars, at lunchtime the majority of folks coming in were greeted by name.  Although we had never been there before, the atmosphere was welcoming.

 

I knew from the start that I wanted to try the tenderloin.  As we perused the menu, the server told us that the special of the day was 1/2 tenderloin and beer cheese soup, which was what Holly elected to try….more about that later.  I chose the full tenderloin.

The sandwich itself?  One word comes to mind…sublime.  This was a darn near perfect tenderloin.  The meat was moist and tasty, and the breading was the perfect compliment to the meat.  Nice and crispy, and it stayed that way for the life of the sandwich….no getting soggy for this one!  The bun was nicely toasted, and the sandwich was dressed exactly as I requested it to be.  This is, from first bite to last, a 5 out of 5 bite tenderloin.  You won’t be disappointed if you order this hand breaded delight!  It sells for $6.75, and, apparently, that includes chips.

I WISH I could say the rest of our experience was just as good….but, it’s time for the other shoe to drop.  I ordered the breaded tenderloin with fries, and I got the tenderloin with chips…and they appeared to be the crumbs out of the bottom of the chip bag.  Anyone who knows me personally knows that I’m not really a picky diner, but I DO expect to get what I ordered.  That lack of attention to detail could cost them a repeat visit from some folks.  On top of that, after we finished our soft drinks, we were never offered a refill.

Holly’s Beer Cheese Soup was mediocre, at best.  It was as if someone took a can of cheez whiz, tossed a couple of potato chunks in, and heated it up.  There was no hint of beer in it…none whatsoever.

To wrap this up, there is no doubt that the tenderloin is a 5 out of 5….certainly worth driving across town for!  And, hopefully….your service experience will be better than ours.

The Pawn Shop is located at 2222 E 54th Street in Indianapolis.  Their website is http://www.pawnshoppub.com

December 31, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. You really ought to go try L&M Visions in Ladoga, IN. It’s in Southeastern Montgomery County. They have great tenderloin sandwiches. They have breaded and hand-breaded. The hand-breaded is the best; it really surprised my brother, who was impressed with size and tenderness.

    Comment by Russ C. | December 31, 2010 | Reply

  2. One of my favorite tenderloins in town. The place itself can get a little rowdy at night, and I prefer to go there when it is warm out so I can sit outside. The fies are mediocre so you didn’t miss much. The fried mushrooms are good.

    Comment by Aaron | January 2, 2011 | Reply

  3. Thanks for your review. It’s been about a year since I was there but I clearly recall that while the tenderloin was huge, the meat was so thin as to be non-existent. It was just a cripy, fried, hard plank. I’m glad to hear that it can be a good experience and may give it a second try based on your experience. Maybe they’ve changed cooks since I was there!

    Comment by Sam | January 3, 2011 | Reply

  4. Thanks for your review. It’s been about a year since I was there but I clearly recall that while the tenderloin was huge

    Comment by aoneled | February 22, 2011 | Reply

  5. Next time you must order the onion rings. Forget the soups, chips and fries. The onion rings may not be bigger than your head, but close.

    Comment by Jeff Indianapolis | September 18, 2011 | Reply

  6. great post! pulling back my old memories at The Pawn Shop!

    Comment by HappyLEDLight | May 30, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

