All tenderloins, all the time.

The finest food known to man

Max and Erma’s, Indianapolis (North)


Max and Erma’s is one of those places I like, but for some reason, I don’t get there very often.
When I read somewhere that they had some new items on their menu, I made a special point to head over there for dinner.A rela tively small chain, most of their restaurants are in the Midwest and East.

In decor, theme, and atmosphere, they remind me of an Applebee’s or Chili’s, but for some reason, I’ve always thought of Max  and Erma’s as more “homey”. To me, some of those other chains seem a bit sterile, and although M&E is a chain, somehow they seem to retain the small down diner feel.

As we perused the menu, I saw they had a “breaded pork cutlet” sandwich.  When I questioned the waitress, she told me it used to be called the  breaded pork tenderloin, but apparently some patrons were confusing it with the pork tenderloin dinner, so they changed the name.  So, I decided to give it a try.

 

As you can see, it’s a nice sized sandwich, with some heft to it, but it’s not overwhelming.  That’s a big plus in my book. If you read my blog on a regular basis, you know that,to me, bigger is NOT always better.  I like the size of this sandwich…a nice meal, without leaving you bloated.

The breading is really, really good.  It’s nice and crunchy, and it has a VERY good flavor, and  it retains a nice  crunch without getting soggy through the life of the sandwich. The breading is certainly a 5 out of 5.

The meat itself?  Not so much.  It wasn’t bad, it just wasn’t especially good.  It was a bit more dry, more bland, more tough than a truly stellar tenderloin. I do want to be very fair…it wasn’t bad meat….it just wasn’t enough to send it over the top.  It certainly downgraded my score for the sandwich.

The bun was nicely toasted, however, I asked for only ketchup, mayo, and onion,and the sandwich had lettuce on it. When a customer asks for a sandwich served a certain way, please, serve it that way.  And, as you can tell by the photo, they skimped on the onion.

All that said, it was a decent sandwich.  I’m going to give it a 3.5 out of 5…just a hair above average.

Holly ordered the lunch portion of the Caribbean Chicken dinner.  It comes with herb rice and broccoli, and she said both were very good – but you can substitute from their sides menu for no extra charge.

The service was prompt  and  friendly, our drinks were kept refilled, and it was overall a very good experience.  We won’t wait so long for our next visit. I might even try the tenderloin again to see if I get a better piece of meat.

Max and Erma’s is located at 12195 N Meridian Street in Indianapolis.  You can find them online at http://www.maxandermas.com

September 27, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Did you know that Max and Erma’s hails from Columbus, OH? Their cream puffs used to be really good when they were a bitty tiny group of restaurants.

    Comment by Gail Ginther | September 27, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

