All tenderloins, all the time.

The finest food known to man

Carver’s Family Restaurant, Richmond, Indiana

Holly l and I found ourselves in Richmond, Indiana this past weekend for a music gig.  As I had never had a tenderloin in Richmond….we set out on a quest to find a locally owned restaurant.
As we were on a timetable, we didn’t have as much time to explore town as I would’ve liked to have, but we did find Carver’s Family Restaurant, and decided to give them a try.

Upon entering, it’s a large place, and kind of reminds me of a Denny’s in it’s layout.  Although we arrived at prime lunchtime for the Sunday after church crowd, we were seated quickly and our capable server answered a few menu questions for us.

The menu is quite complete, with a vast breakfast selection, lots of sandwiches, plate lunches, and a variety of Greek food, also.

There is a breaded tenderloin on the menu, and I asked the waitress if it was really a breaded tenderloin, or a pork fritter.  She replied…”It’s a fritter”. It might have been my imagination, but I do believe she said it with regret and wiped a single tear from her eye.

OK, maybe I’m stretching it a bit. However, Carver’s won my business right there.  By being honest with me, they turned what could have been a bad experience and an unhappy customer right around.

SO…I ordered the steakburger patty melt, and it was very, very good indeed.  The meat had a wonderful flavor, the onions were grilled to perfection, and the toast was perfect. With it, I had onion rings…not outstanding, but VERY good, and french onion soup, which was pretty average.  All in all, it was a very good meal.

Holly had a build your own omelette.  Carver’s makes their omelettes with 6(!) eggs, so Holly chose hers half-sized, made with EggBeaters, and raved about how good it was….very light and fluffy.

I would consider the price to be moderate for the amount and quality of food we received, and although I was disappointed that they offer a fritter instead of a tenderloin…the positive experience we received…and the honesty from our server, means we’ll be back!

Carver’s is located at 2270 Chester Blvd in Richmond, Indiana.  I was unable to locate a web site for them.

October 6, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. too bad there aren’t any pictures… my imagination might not be the same as actual experiences. :P

    Comment by Love 2 Type | October 7, 2011 | Reply

  2. I have to admit that I wrote this as an afterthought. :) When I found out they didn’t have a breaded tenderloin, I was going to cross them off my list. But, upon returning home, I decided to write this review based on their honesty. :) But I didn’t take photos while I was there.

    Comment by thetenderloinconnoisseur | October 7, 2011 | Reply

  3. Next time you are in the area…try the Hilltop Drive-In on U.S. 40 on the far west side of Cambridge City, Indiana. Tenderloins – made from scratch – yum!

    Comment by janedsh | October 9, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

