All tenderloins, all the time.

The finest food known to man

The top 3 out of the first 100!

Recently, a commenter on here suggested, that, since I’ve completed my first 100 reviews, I post my top 5 of the first 100.  I’m going to cut it down even further, and post my top three.

I’m going to qualify this a bit.  I believe these are the top 3 tenderloins in Indy (out of those I’ve tried, anyway).  These all have 5/5 ratings, but they’re all a bit different.  In addition to the tenderloins being different, all three venues are different, so I’m going to talk a bit about each specific venue.

Please note that I am putting these in alphabetical order.  They’re ALL outstanding and I really can’t rate one over the other.

The Aristocrat.  For those who don’t know, the Aristocrat recently suffered a devastating fire, but they are rebuilding and are slated to re-open in the spring of 2012.

The Aristocrat has long been one of my favorite restaurants in Indy.  It’s a nice, non smoking pub that features live music on an irregular basis.  There is bar and dining room seating, as well as a delightful atmosphere.  Service has always been outstanding, and I can honestly say I’ve never even been the slight bit disappointed there.  These folks have been around for years, and they know what they’re doing.  If you’re not a tenderloin fan, there are plenty of other options on the menu, from burgers to steaks to salads and just about everything in between.  They also have a Sunday Brunch that folks rave about, but I’ve not tried it myself.

You can see the original Aristocrat review at:

http://breadedtenderloin.wordpress.com/2009/06/16/the-aristocrat-indianapolis-broad-ripple/

C. R. Heroe’s Family Pub.  I’m not sure, but I believe C R Heroe’s was one of the first to bring the “family pub” concept to the area, and it’s served them well.  No matter what age you are, you can have fun and a great meal here.  The restaurant is nicely decorated, the staff is friendly, and the portions are ample.  A couple of things to try:  the garlic mayo…I wasn’t so sure about it, but, WOW…that is some good stuff.  Also, the Italian Beef sandwich is, according to those in the know, the best around.  It’s also a very good place to watch a ball game, and they always have something special going on there.
You can see the original C. R. Heroe’s review at:

http://breadedtenderloin.wordpress.com/2009/12/10/c-r-heros-family-pub-fishers-indiana/

Jimmy B’s.  Jimmy B’s is the place where it all started.  If you’re looking for classy dining, let me tell you right off…this isn’t the place for you.  But if you’re looking for the quintessential neighborhood bar…with good food….you won’t go wrong here.  It’s 21 and over, and smoker friendly, but if you go during off peak hours you’ll be OK.  The tenderloin has to be eaten to be believed, the burgers are quite good, and Holly raves about the chicken quesadillas.  The waffle fries are perfect, and it’s one of the best places in town to people watch.
You can see the latest original Jimmy B’s review at:

http://breadedtenderloin.wordpress.com/2009/05/01/jimmy-bs-home-place-indianapolis-indiana/

And, there you have it – my top 3 out of my first 100 reviews.  Stay tuned for number 101!

December 29, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Awsome list! I haven’t been to Heroes, but I will make it a 2012 priority. Happy New Year, TC!

    Comment by Dan | December 31, 2011 | Reply

  2. Congratulations on number 100!. I too share your passion about tenderloins. I have one thing to ask,, could you add a search function? I was looking to see if you had reviewed the tenderloin at the Gaslight Inn on South Meridian here in Indy and I was unable to find a search box.

    By the way, I highly recommend the offering from the Gaslight and would urge you to check it out.

    Thanks for this great contribution to tenderloin lovers everywhere.

    Comment by Jeff Downer Indianapolis, In | January 4, 2012 | Reply

    • OK, I’ll look and see if I can add a search function…and thanks for the tip on the Gaslight!

      Comment by thetenderloinconnoisseur | January 5, 2012 | Reply

  3. Jeff, a Google search trick that you might enjoy… if you enter “site:” in front a website address in google, you can then search for a term you are looking for. for example:

    site:breadedtenderloin.wordpress.com gas light

    there are some great possibilities using this approach

    Comment by Tom H | January 18, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

