All tenderloins, all the time.

The finest food known to man

The Gaslight Inn, Indianapolis

 

The Gaslight Inn is a historic bar a couple miles south of Downtown Indianapolis.  I’ve been in here a few times for various events, but had never had the chance to dine at the Gaslight Inn before.

 

Upon walking in, the first word that came to mind was “cozy”.  It’s a very warm atmosphere, and even though at lunch time there were a lot of regulars, the waitress greeted me like an old friend, even though we had never met before.

 

I have seen what I consider to be a disturbing trend in restaurants these days…where the wait staff wants to be your best friend.  Don’t get me wrong, I appreciate friendly service.  However, I think I’m a pretty perceptive guy, and I can tell when it’s put on.  Be genuine, be yourself, and you’ll get a good tip and I’ll come back to see you.  Give me false familiarity, and I’ll likely not be back.

 

That’s what made my visit at the Gaslight so enjoyable….from the waitress to the owner, who I had the chance to visit with for a bit, I was made to feel welcome, and I could tell it was sincere.  They were glad I was there, and, observing the dining room, they treated everyone in there the same way.  Hoosier Hospitality at its finest.

 

The Gaslight’s menu has pretty standard pub fare…from sandwiches too full meals, with about everything in between.  Of course, I chose the breaded tenderloin.

The Gaslight makes their own breading, and, let me tell you, it’s fabulous.  Light, crunchy and flaky, and it retains the crunch throughout the life of the sandwich.  The breading is a 5/5. No question.  The meat?  I’m happy to report, it’s just as good.  Not pounded out paper thin, it’s tender, moist and flavorful.  The sandwich was served dressed just as I requested.  This sandwich, folks, is a winner.  A 5/5, no doubt about it.  I’ll go out on a limb and say it’s one of the best tenderloins I’ve ever had.  Yes, it was THAT good.

As my side, I ordered onion rings.  With the same homemade beer batter, these were simply stellar.  You’ll pay extra for onion rings if you choose them as a side over fries or one of the other sides, but, trust me, they’re WELL worth it.

While I was there, I had the opportunity to sample their catfish, which was on special.  If you’re a catfish lover…you’ll be very pleased.

I did neglect to get the price of the breaded tenderloin, but it was in line with others in central Indiana.

While you’re at the Gaslight, do yourself a favor and take a few minutes to just wander around.  It’s a historic building that is reputed to be haunted.  If you’ve got a few extra minutes, ask a few questions.  You’ll be rewarded with some very interesting stories.

The Gaslight Inn is located at 2280 S Meridian in Indianapolis.  You can find them on the web at http://thegaslightinnindy.com

 

 

February 13, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Glad you enjoyed it. I thought you would.

    Comment by Jeff Downer Indianapolis, IN | February 13, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

