All tenderloins, all the time.

The finest food known to man

The Green Street Pub, Brownsburg, Indiana

The Green Street pub in Brownsburg has been recommended to me several times, and I’ve been meaning to try it for quite some time.  This weekend was the first time we’ve been in the area with free time to do a review, so we decided to take advantage of the opportunity.

We were in Brownsburg for the 1st annual Brownsburg Hamfest (a gathering of ham radio operators), and I asked the locals their opinion of the restaurant, and the recommendations were high indeed.

The Green Street pub is located in a strip mall amid a grocery store, Mexican restaurant, and some other shops.  The first thing I noticed upon entering was that it was MUCH larger than your typical strip mall restaurant.  Pleasantly decorated, the hostess was friendly and personable and showed us promptly to our seat.

Unfortunately, getting to our seat was not as pleasant as it should be.  When you first walk in to Green Street, the bar is off to your right.  There were some ball games going on, and there was a lot of smoking going on in the bar.  And, it was drifting out into the area one has to walk through to get to the family section.

I’m not going to get into the whole smoking/non smoking debate, I’ll simply say that I don’t understand the logic of having your non smoking customers walk through a cloud of smoke to get to the non smoking section.  That makes NO sense to me.  But, hey, what do I know.  I’m only a customer who decides where to spend my money.

Once getting to our table, the non smoking area is wonderfully decorated, and there are two very large fish tanks that provide a nice distraction for the kids.  There were several families having lunch when we were there, and the kids were very much enjoying watching the fish.

The lunch menu was nice, but, it wasn’t as large as I anticipated.  A few sandwiches, a few salads, and that was about it.  I’m not sure about their dinner menu, but the lunch menu was a bit disappointing in variety.

I was there on a mission, to try the breaded tenderloin.  It’s offered in 3 varieties….grilled, lightly breaded, or beer battered.  I chose the beer battered.

The sandwich is large, but not overwhelming.  It’s obviously hand breaded, and the breading was…average.  Actually, it was rather bland.  As much as I was looking forward to this sandwich, I couldn’t get over the fact of how average the breading was.

The meat was the same.  It was a little dry, and not as tender as some.  Don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t a “bad” sandwich…it just wasn’t especially good, either.  It was served promptly and dressed exactly as I requested, so the service was well above average.

For her meal, Holly chose French onion soup and a garden salad.  A bonus at Green Street:  they serve poppy seed dressing, which Holly chose.  As far as her meal goes, it was average.  She said it wasn’t bad; it just didn’t stand out in her mind as a stellar meal.

I’m rating the Green Street Pub breaded tenderloin a 2.5 out of 5.  It’s average.  And, if I were to return, I’d order something else off of the menu.

The Green Street Pub is located at 911 Green Street in Brownsburg, Indiana.  I was unable to locate a website for them, but they do have a Facebook page.  The bar is 21 and over only, the restaurant is all ages.

February 27, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Hi Rick, thanks for putting together a website like this. I’m an Iowan currently living in PA and to my dismay, fried/breaded/tenderized pork tenderloins have proven to be scarce at best (Oh, the horror!). Terminology I need to ask about though…I always thought “pork fritter” and “pork tenderloin” were different terms for the same thing? Some places I’ve eaten at had tenderloins that were called “fritters” and were very good; what exactly is the distinction? I’d hate to think that I might have been misled during some of these especially sacred culinary experiences.

    Comment by Brian | June 20, 2012 | Reply

    • To me, the difference…is it a hand cut piece of meat, or a processed, ground patty. :)

      Comment by thetenderloinconnoisseur | June 21, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

