All tenderloins, all the time.

The finest food known to man

Rokafellow’s Hall, Pendleton, Indiana

Image

 

Rokafellow’s Hall is a music/entertainment venue in downtown Pendleton, Indiana.  It’s a very cool place.  There’s a HUGE stage, a couple of pool tables, a few TV’s, tables, and booths.  It’s long and narrow….I’m not sure how many people it holds, but it’s a lot.  And it’s a non-smoking music and entertainment venue, something as an entertainer AND a customer that I appreciate!

I had some new comedy material I wanted to try, and they have a Sunday night open stage, so I decided to get something to eat.  My personal philosophy….if a place is going to provide a stage for me to work out my new material, whether it be comedy or music, then I should patronize them.  So, we decided to get something to eat while we were there.

Being a small town bar, they have a fairly limited menu:  wings, nachos, a couple of salads, some sandwiches, and the like.  I noticed that they had a breaded tenderloin on the menu, and honestly, I thought it would be a fritter.  I asked our server, a very nice young man named Sean, if it was a fritter, and he said “No, everything here is hand-made”.

OK, let’s give it a trThis tenderloin comes dressed with a whole bunch of stuff…tomato, lettuce, pickle, and more….items I don’t normally get on a tenderloin sandwich.  It ALSO comes dressed with “maple bacon jam”.  Maple Bacon jam?  On a tenderloin?  That sounds….interesting.  And something I wasn’t quite sure about.  Sean told us that the chef makes his own maple bacon jam, so I figured, what the heck…I’m going to break from my tradition and get the sandwich dressed like they offer it.

Image

 

The meat is obviously fresh, it’s moist and flavorful, just like it should be.  The breading was a little different than many I’ve had, but it was VERY good.  And that maple bacon jam?  All I can say is WOW.  That’s some good stuff.  Mixed with the fresh meat, nice breading, lettuce, tomato, pickle….this is one VERY good sandwich.

I’m going to give Rokafellow’s Hall a 4.5 out of 5 bites.  Most of that ½ star off comes from it being non-traditional, that’s all.

Holly chose the nachos with no meat, and they came as ordered – vegetables on top with additional toppings on the side.  The cheese was a sauce, which was okay, but Holly prefers shredded cheese. There wasn’t anything spectacular about these…just your basic order of nachos.

Rokafellow’s Hall is located at 104 W State Street in Pendleton, Indiana.  Although they’re non-smoking, they are 21 and over only.  They DO have a nice selection of local and regional beers, also.

I was unable to find a web page for Rokafellow’s, but they do have a Facebook page where you can view their entertainment schedule.

 

August 2, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. WOW!!! That sounds awesome! Do they bottle the Maple Bacon Jam? I could go for some of that! : )

    Comment by Scott and René | August 2, 2013 | Reply

    • I’m not sure! I’ll be up there next Sunday night and will ask them!

      Comment by thetenderloinconnoisseur | August 2, 2013 | Reply

      • Let me know!! We may have to make a trip up there! 😉

        Comment by Scott and René | August 2, 2013

  2. I haven’t been to RokaFellows in a while (the owner of the building is an historic preservation buddy of mine) but it sounds as if I need to make a trip. They just haven’t had many music acts that I’ve heard about lately. I’ll have to keep an eye on their page.

    Comment by Gail Ginther | November 4, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers

