In search of the perfect tenderloin……

A hunk of breaded meat, deep fried, and served on a bun.  That description doesn’t sound like much…but to those of us from the Midwest, it’s the food of the gods.

My travels over the last 30 years as a musician have taken me to dive bars, little mom and pop diners, state and county fairs, small town festivals, and fancy big city diners.
And nearly every one of them have a breaded tenderloin sandwich on their menu.

I’ve found some of them to be truly remarkable.  And, some, to be remarkably forgettable.

So, I hope you’ll join me as I continue my travels  throughout the Midwest…and more…in search of the most perfect sandwich ever, the Breaded Tenderloin.

7 thoughts on “In search of the perfect tenderloin……

  1. I just wanted to say that I LOVE your blog! If you find yourself in Carmel, you should try Muldoon’s. In my opinion, it has one of the best tenderloin sandwiches. I would love to see if a connoisseur like you would agree. Keep up the good work! Excited to see more reviews!

  2. There is no finer tenderloin in all Indiana than the former TIN STAR in Broadripple. The Pizza King (current tenant of the old Tin Star building) purchased the original recipe. Top quality meat, very light and non-greasy breading, fresh toppings and buns. I regularly eat 3 in 1 sitting. Stop in to see Carl and tell him Brian sent you. 🙂

  3. Spike-and-Nan’s long out of business in Noblesville had the best Tenderloin but since they are gone that has past to Muldoons in Carmel.
    The best homemade is a cubed 3-4 oz tenderloin dipped in buttermilk and using your fist it is rolled in a bowl of Drake’s (brand) fry mix. The first couple are not near as good as after the mix gets some of that moisture in it. In any case deep fry at 362-365 degrees ’till it floats or about 10 to 12 minutes.

  4. Just found your blog and am excited to read through a bunch of breaded tenderloin spots. Nick’s in Huntington, IN is my favorite, quite a life changing little sandwich. I recommend a road trip. Am always looking for more spots when I go home to visit my parents, though.

Leave a Reply

