The Nickel Plate, Fishers, Indiana

The Nickel Plate Bar and Grill features two of my favorite things…trains and food.

I’ve been to The Nickel Plate a few times in the past, but had never sampled their tenderloin.  Holly and I were on our way to a Songwriters Showcase that I was participating in, and on the spur of the moment, decided to stop here and do a tenderloin review.

The Nickel Plate is located right on the train tracks in Fishers, and the decor  (and menu) are all train related.  It’s clean and has a very pleasant atmosphere, and the service is prompt and friendly.

I had high hopes for their breaded tenderloin sandwich, for it had been featured in Indianapolis Monthly, Nuvo, and several other publications and websites as one of the best, and some name it, THE best breaded tenderloin in the area.

At first glance…I noted that this tenderloin was much more greasy than others I’ve sampled recently.  My method of tasting is to first tear off a piece of the sandwich and eat it, no bun or no condiments.  This is a sandwich where I had to take a napkin and wipe the grease off of my fingers after doing that.  Not a good start.

In all fairness, the flavor of the meat and breading was very good…the breading was crisp at first bite and the meat was tender, juicy, and flavorful.

But the sandwich  went downhill after that. It was so greasy  (are you seeing a theme here??) that after a very short time, the sandwich went from crispy breading to soggy breading and bun..not a good thing.  Add to that a bun that was not toasted, it became a soggy, drippy mess.

Top that off with cold french fries…..my ship of high hopes had just hit the dock of disappointment.

In all fairness, I’ve always found their burgers to be excellent and I wouldn’t hesitate to order one of those again,  But, if I’m going after a breaded tenderloin…I’ll go elsewhere, thank you very much.  If this is one of Indianapolis’ best breaded tenderloins…then we’re in sad shape.

On my scale of 1-5 bites, I’m giving The Nickel Plate’s tenderloin a 2.5 out of 5.

The Nickel Plate is located at 8654 E 116th Street, Fishers, Indiana.

5 thoughts on “The Nickel Plate, Fishers, Indiana

  1. Great review Rick. As you noted, the tenderloin @ Nickel Plate that usually gets great reviews. I had it a few years ago and thought that it was good, but not memorable. I love this site because the tenderloin is so simple to make, but are largely effected by small factors like, too greasy, too thin, too thick, dry bun etc…

  2. I’m not a fussy eater, but nothing can redeem cold French fries. Nothing. They taste like blargh and you can’t even reheat them (they just taste like reheated blargh). Unpardonable.

  3. On the mark with this one. I thought the flavor was pretty good and the meat was juicy, but damn it was greasy. I thought maybe I just caught them on a bad day.

Leave a Reply

