Scotty’s Brewhouse, Indianapolis Northside

Scotty’s is a deservingly popular gathering place on the northside of Indianapolis  (they have other locations, also) and I’ve been there several times to have a burger and some of their fried pickles…always popular and always tasty.

Going into Scotty’s is almost a sensory overload for me.  There are SO many TVs and SO many games on at one time it’s hard to focus my attention.

But it’s a pleasant and fun place, and I’ve always got good food and good service there and it’s a place that’s earned my repeat business.

The purpose of this trip was, of course, to sample and review their breaded tenderloins.

The sandwich came with a nice, toasted bun and the condiments requested on the side,  just as I like it. I was disappointed, though, in the onion…two little rings of onion was all that came with the sandwich.

Although I’ve been extremely happy with the food I’ve had at Scotty’s before, sadly, it wasn’t the case with the tenderloin.  At first glance, it looked like a pork fritter straight out of the grocery freezer case.

And, that’s exactly what it tasted like.  A pre-processed, pre-breaded piece of meat.

Don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t a BAD sandwich.  If I could describe it in one word, it’d be the word “boring”.  I could go to the supermarket and get one just as good.

On the plus side, the sandwich was not greasy at all, and the breading stayed crisp throughout the sandwich…it didn’t get soggy at all.  The meat had an “ok” flavor…not outstanding, not terrible, just OK.

So, I’ll say that Scotty’s tenderloin was just about as average as average can be.  If you’re looking for an average tenderloin, you can’t go wrong with Scotty’s.

On a scale of 1-5 bites, I give Scotty’s a 2.5.

Scotty’s northside is located at 3905 E 96th Street, between Keystone and Allisonville, in Indianapolis.

9 thoughts on “Scotty’s Brewhouse, Indianapolis Northside

  1. I find Scotty in this odd niche. Not good enough to be a gastropub, but dare I say educated bar food. I would go there for a drink and something to munch on, but I never think of it as a dinner first place.

    Not to hijack the post, but where/when can we catch up with you as a musician?

  2. Cool stuff Rick, no doubt about it. I love the whole idea of the Route 66 tour as well. Great story. I had a lightbulb moment and I think that our paths have crossed before, check your g-mail when you have a chance.

    I will have to try that salad. My diet needs a few salads since starting the blog!

  3. Thanks for the review. I always appreciate constructive criticisms. I will work with my team on improvements to the breaded t. Continue to let me know what we can do to improve. I strive for perfection- knowing I will never get there; but, will die trying…
    Best,
    Scotty

  4. Scotty’s has the best hamburgers and steak fries in town, I’m a weekly visitor. If you want a breaded tenderloin go to Muldoon’s in Carmel.

Leave a Reply

