The Grill 2, McCordsville, Indiana

Friends of ours  (You know who you are!!) invited us to have dinner with them last night, and to sample a tenderloin the’ve been raving about.

My friend actually posted a picture of this tenderloin on his facebook page, and I remember thinking to myself  “Hey!  This looks pretty good!”.

So, off we set to McCordsville, Indiana, to The Grill 2, to give it a try.

The Grill 2 features a bar on one side and family dining on the other, and it’s all smoke free—a HUGE plus in my book.  When I first looked at the menu, I was almost overwhelmed at the choices, from sandwiches to steaks and just about everything imaginable in between.

Of course, I was there for only one thing..the breaded tenderloin.  The menu proudly proclaims this  “The World’s Best Tenderloin”, and, I’ve learned to take statements like this with a grain of salt.

So, how did it stack up against other tenderloins in the area?

I’ll not keep you in suspense any longer.  If it’s not the world’s best, it’s pretty darn close.

It’s a huge sandwich, but this is a case where they don’t sacrifice quality for quantity.  The meat is tender, moist, and tasty, and the breading may very well be the best I’ve ever had.  Often, breading is as much…or more…about the texture as it is the taste.

This is not the case with this sandwich.  The breading is EXTREMELY tasty, and the flavor only adds to the already excellent taste of the meat.

The bun is nicely toasted, and is a bit different than the run of the mill supermarket buns.  There was a taste quality I couldn’t quite define, but it was outstanding.

The breaded tenderloin at The Grill 2 is $8.95 with chips.  That’s just a touch higher than some of the others in the area, but for a sandwich of this quality, I happily paid it.  I opted to pay an extra $1.00 for onion rings, and as you can see by the picture, I got a mountain of rings, and they are simply outstanding, and a great value for only $1.00 extra.  If you’re an onion ring fan, you can’t go wrong with this.

The service was prompt and friendly, the sandwich is over the top good, and this one goes into the 5 out of 5 Tenderloin Hall of Fame.  If you’re looking for a good sandwich on the East side, head for The Grill 2.

Holly had a Philly Beef and it was excellent, and one of our other dining partners had a Black and Blue salad, also rated excellent.

The Grill 2 is located at 6221 W Broadway in McCordsville, Indiana.  You can visit their website at http://www.thegrillatmccordsville.com/.

Now, for a little test.  Let’s see who reads this all the way to the end.  The FIRST comment on this post wins a copy of “Going Back Home”, a CD of 20 folk and bluegrass groups from North America, that features Patchwork’s  (That’s Holly and I) “Freight Train” as the opening track.

Happy Dining, everyone!

17 thoughts on “The Grill 2, McCordsville, Indiana

  1. Just leaving a comment to prove I read the whole article LOL, but I already have a copy of the CD, so mine can go to the NEXT person who posts. 🙂 OK, off to The Grill 2!!

  2. Darn! I was too slow! LOL. I always read your articles to the end. gotta make sure I don’t miss any little tidbit about the tenderloin!

  3. Of course I read your reviews!!! I’d like to make a suggestion. Is there a way for you to have a list on the blog page showing the restaurants reviewed sorted by stars received?

  4. WOW you’ve got my mouth watering and my soul hankerin for a quick day trip east lol Thanks for the review — Ima gonna hafta faller you a wee bit closer me thinks. $1.00 for a mountain of onions rings!!! Do tell! 🙂

  5. We took your advice and headed for the Grill 2 in McCordsville Saturday, June 5th anticipating the promised 5 of 5 rated tenderloin.
    Were we dissapointed? Not at all. Although during this particular experience we encountered a small amount of gristle on each sandwhich. So we had to go with a 4 of 5 rating. Also, you didn’t mention that if you wanted toppings like pickle, onion, mayo, etc that was an extra $.50. We also added onion rings on one of the meals (excellent). Our meal without drinks plus tip was closing in on $30. Kinda stiff for sandwhichs.
    Have we found our perfect tenderloin? Close, but we will remain on the hunt for Indiana’s best deep fried golden delight.

    • best tenderloin…broasted.. gnawbone Indiana..state rd 46 brown county can’t remember the name of the place but gnawbone is only so big,. if you blink you’ll drive on thru…ask when u get there

  6. Went to Grill 2 in McCordsville today. Thanks so much for the tip. I believe its the best, and I’ve had many, Tenderloin ever. And the onion rings…….first class. Thanks again!!!

  7. Yes, I have had the tenderloin @ the Grill. I’d rate it 4 out of 5, because I encountered “gristle” also, but otherwise, very tender. My personal favorite is the tenderloin @ “Around-the-Corner-Pub” in New Pal. Awsome. So large it’s enough for 2 people (& my hubby is a big eater) & they give you 2 buns & trimmings are not extra $.

Leave a Reply

