All tenderloins, all the time.

The finest food known to man

Teddy’s Burger Joint, Indianapolis (Southport)

When reviewing restaurants, you step up to the plate and take your swing.  Sometimes you strike out, sometimes you hit a single, sometimes it gets knocked out of the park.  Yesterday was one of those days when everything was just right and the ball goes sailing out of the park.

We had some business on the south side of Indy, and I knew I wanted a tenderloin.  I just didn’t know where to get one.  So we headed down and figured we’d find something interesting.

We saw Teddy’s Burger Joint and figured we’d give it a shot.  I honestly didn’t know if they had a breaded tenderloin, but it was past lunchtime and we took our chances.

Teddy’s, from the moment you step through the door, is, quite simply, a FUN place.  The decor is nice and busy without being overwhelming, and the staff is gracious, patient, and helpful.

I asked our server at the counter if they had a REAL breaded tenderloin, and she said  “You’ll hear it being pounded after you order it”.  That was good enough for me.

So how was it?

In short…a piece of breaded heaven.  The meat itself was nice, tender, moist, and flavorful.  This was perhaps the most tender tenderloin I’ve ever had…it was really a cut above the rest.  I just can’t say enough about how tasty and tender the meat was.

And the breading was just as good.  Nice and crispy, so that little crumbs fell off when I took a bite, but it still stuck to the meat.  Good taste and good texture, the perfect compliment to the meat.

Add to that a nicely, butter toasted bun, and it being dressed exactly as I ordered, with plenty of onion, Teddy’s breaded tenderloin goes into the hall of fame…a 5 out of 5 bites.

Teddy’s breaded tenderloin sells for $8.95 and that includes a very healthy serving of tasty fries.

Holly chose a spinach salad for her lunch, which included spinach, strawberries, almonds, onions…and she proclaimed it quite tasty indeed.  Teddy’s is one of those places we’ll make a point to visit again.  I’d really like to try one of their burgers…but I’ll probably stick with the tenderloin.

Teddy’s is located at 2222 W Southport Road in Indianapolis, and is an all ages, non smoking venue.  They have a spacious kids playroom, feature live acoustic music on the weekends, and alcohol is available for purchase.  You can visit their website at:  http://www.teddysburgerjoint.com/.

January 18, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. I love Teddy’s! I know this is a tenderloin site, but if you’re ever in the mood for a burger, Teddy’s does them very well IMO. Glad to see they’re getting some great attention!

    Comment by Katie | January 18, 2011 | Reply

  2. Thought I would try it out today since I live nearby. I agree the meat was beyond excellent but there was something about the breading that turned me off a bit – it seemed to be spiced in some way that I couldn’t place. I imagine most would like it but it distracted me from the classic tenderloin taste I love.

    The staff suggested some horseradish mayo that was delicious and came in handy to cover the breading I didn’t care for. They were very nice and the place has a comfortable feel to it.

    I will return to try a burger for sure but for tenderloins I think I will stick with Robbie’s Pub not too far east of there – bigger and cheaper there and the meat is better than most places (downside – smoking allowed)

    Comment by DC | January 19, 2011 | Reply

  3. @ Katie, thanks for dropping by, and the hint on the burgers!

    @ DC, thanks for trying them…that meat is GREAT. Robbie’s Pub…I’ll give them a try next time I’m down that way! Thanks!

    Comment by thetenderloinconnoisseur | January 19, 2011 | Reply

  4. have you tried Muldoon’s in Carmel? It’s the best tenderloin I’ve hand around town, though I haven’t tried Pawn Shop yet which I’ve heard is really good

    Comment by Kelly | February 13, 2011 | Reply

  5. All we can say is, good luck

    Comment by aoneled | February 22, 2011 | Reply

  6. This is about the worst place I’ve eaten in years. 2 Tenderloins and a piece of poundcake; $27.00. Pound cake (that is advertised as feeding 2 to 4) only had 3 thin slices of pound cake. The cake tasted like it came from the bread store outlet and was extremely stale. The sandwiches do not even approach the quality of a $9 tenderloin. All in all, this place is pathetic.

    Comment by Pete | September 30, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

