The Arbor Tea Room and Cafe, Cumberland, Indiana

When I think breaded tenderloin, I nearly always think of a pub or diner…I rarely think of an upscale restaurant, or of all things, a tea room.

So, when I heard that the Arbor Cafe and Tea Room near Greenfield, Indiana, had a breaded tenderloin on their menu, I knew I had to make a trip out there to try it.

A dear friend of ours was celebrating her birthday,  and this was her restaurant of choice, so I had the perfect excuse to celebrate AND do a review at the same time!!

The Arbor Cafe and Tea Room is in what appears to be an old farmhouse, and is nicely decorated just like you’d expect a tea room to be decorated, without being pretentious.  Nice, cozy, and homey, it reminded me of Sunday dinner at Grandma’s house.

The staff is pleasant and helpful, and the menu has a nice variety of soups, salads, sandwiches, and homemade desserts.

Of course, I was there to try just one thing….their handmade tenderloin.

 

It’s a nice sized sandwich without being overwhelming.  The meat is pounded out thick, but not too thick.  The meat was tender and juicy, although I have to say that, for me, the taste just wasn’t there.  There certainly wasn’t anything bad about it, but there wasn’t anything outstanding about it, either.

The breading was nice and crisp, and I liked it quite a lot.  Again, it wasn’t over the top good, but it was pleasant.  The bun was nice and fresh, and the sandwich was dressed nicely.

There are a number of side options for the sandwich, I chose the side salad with homemade raspberry dressing, and it was over the top good…perhaps the best dressing I’ve ever had!  The sandwich and side sells for $6.99.

This was a nice, pleasant, sandwich.  It’s certainly above average, but there’s nothing for me that pushes it to that excellent level.  I’m going to give it a 3.5 out of 5 bites.  I’d certainly get it again, but I’d not drive a long distance for it.

That said…everything else on the menu is great.  Holly had the half sandwich and soup combo, with French Onion Soup.  I’m not a soup eater at all, but I sampled the French Onion Soup….and, surprisingly, I’d order it next time I’m there.  It was that good.

The Arbor Cafe and Tea Room is located at 7173 W Highway 40 in Cumberland, Indiana.  I was unable to find a web page for them.

Leave a Reply

