All tenderloins, all the time.

The finest food known to man

The Ram, Fishers, Indiana

The Ram Restaurant and Brewery has two locations in Indianapolis, downtown and one in Fishers.  I’d heard about their breaded tenderloin that they serve in the Fishers location, and last night we had a night off…what had been rare of late…and decided to give it a try.

The Ram is a chain that is celebrating their 40th anniversary…honestly, I had no clue they’d been around that long!  Part sports bar, part micro brewery, part restaurant, all those separate parts work together in a casual, friendly atmosphere that made for a very pleasant date night for Holly and I.

The menu is quite large and varied…and…it’s almost overwhelming.  If you didn’t know what you wanted for supper, you could spend some time reading the menu and there certainly is something on there for every taste.

Knowing they had a breaded tenderloin on their menu, I knew immediately that’s what I wanted.  However, upon reading the description, I realized it wasn’t a “traditional” tenderloin as many of us Hoosiers know it.  That said….be forewarned, I’m not going to rate this on my traditional 0-5 scale…which is the same thing I’ve done with some other non-traditional tenderloins.


The breading is really, really outstanding.  It’s infused with 71 Pale Ale, and nice extremely crunchy and tasty.  I really like the breading a lot!  I had a delightful visit with the chef after our meal, and when he told me how many ingredients were in the breading, I was stunned.  He’s obviously done his homework and has came up with a wonderful breading.

The meat itself fell short of outstanding.  It was too thin for my personal taste, and that wonderful breading almost overwhelmed the taste of the meat.  In addition, they use cubed pork instead of hand cut and pounded tenderloin, so, again it’s not quite traditional.

The sandwich is served on a Kasier roll, with cracked black pepper mayo and a number of other dressings.  Since I saw from the onset that this wasn’t a traditional tenderloin, I opted to get it as dressed from the kitchen instead of my normal mayo, ketchup, and onion only.

And….I’ve got to tell you.  I was skeptical – quite skeptical at first.  But..it works.  All the ingredients put together work quite well indeed.  So, instead of scoring this on my normal scale, I’m going to take a hint from my friends over at wouldibuyitagain.com and ask myself the question:  “Would I buy it again?”, and the answer is yes.  It’s not your momma’s tenderloin….but it’s quite good and I wouldn’t hesitate to get it again.

Holly got the Beer Cheese Soup, (a FourSquare check-in bonus!) and I tried a bit, and it was simply outstanding!  For her entree, she ordered the LoCal Chicken & Shrimp Sauté – an entrée off of their anniversary menu.  This is a grouping of restaurant favorites that have been brought out of retirement for a limited time.  It was nothing short of fantastic.

Our service was outstanding…and in the interest of fairness, I should point out that our server is a musician we are acquainted with.  However, I got to watch him interact with other tables, and all the servers seemed to be on top of their game.  It was a dining experience that was definitely a cut above…matter of fact, I’d rate the whole experience…food, atmosphere, and service, a 5/5.  We’ll be back and be back soon.

A word of advice.  If you like dessert, try the mile high mud pie.  But…if you do….you should bring a large family, or, better yet, a small army.  There’s a LOT of food there!

The Ram is located at 12750 Parkside Drive in Fishers.  The Tenderloin is available ONLY at the Fishers location.  You can find their website at http://www.theram.com

And, just a closing note.  This is review #99 for me.  I’ve got something VERY special….that involves a road trip…for review #100.  Stay tuned!

November 3, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. congrats in advance on #100! I appreciate this review, too – I’ve never been thrilled with the Ram’s food… and honestly never thought there’d be variance from location to location. I work nearby and will have to give this a try! (Tuesdays and Fridays feature discounted growler fills of their beer, for those who might be interested!)

    Comment by Tom H | November 3, 2011 | Reply

  2. We used to frequent the Fishers location when they first open, but after 4 consecutive bad services, we have vowed never to return. That was 2 years ago. I will say your review piqued my interest quite a bit, but I am still not happy with the manager giving me a lame excuse for why our server was too busy to check on us and offer refills when there were only 4 other tables filled at the time.

    Comment by howardfamilycachers | November 3, 2011 | Reply

  3. I have to add that for the area, my go-to is the Chatham Tap. Rick, I think you would love their breaded tenderloin.

    Comment by Tom H | November 4, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

