The Georgetowner Draft House, Fortville, Indiana

Image

The Georgetowner Draft House is pretty much like stepping back into Old England – which seems rather out of place in Fortville, Indiana. But it works.

We’ve been to the Georgetowner a few times before, and it was pretty good….good enough that we always went back when we’re in the area. I had heard through the grapevine that they had a new chef, so we decided to drop in when we were in Fortville attending a wedding.

The menu advertises a hand breaded tenderloin, and I asked our friendly and helpful waitress if it truly was hand breaded, and she said that it is hand cut, hand pounded, and hand breaded, in house. Well, that was good enough for me.

Image

 

It appears that is certainly the case with this tenderloin. The meat was tender, moist, and tasty. The breading was nice and crisp, and blended perfectly with the tenderness of the meat. The bun was toasted perfectly, and the fries that came with the sandwich were darn near perfect. I’m going to give this one a 5/5 bites. It’s worth the trip.

One thing I REALLY liked about this tenderloin was that it wasn’t the size of a hubcap. You left knowing you’d had a hearty meal, without feeling bloated. And, yes, I DO realize I can take half a tenderloin home, but they’re never as good on the second day.

For her entrée, Holly chose the Fish and Chips that were on special. For $6.99 you get two pieces of deep fried cod, a generous serving of seasoned fries and cole slaw. The fish was excellent – fried to perfection, as were the fries. The dressing for the poppy seed cole slaw is the chef’s own recipe. And let me tell you something…it is TO DIE FOR! I’m not a big fan of heavy dressing on cole slaw anyway, so this was a pleasant surprise. And the flavor was BEYOND my expectations! I would return there any time JUST for the slaw! But that’s not the end of my culinary adventure! I had eaten most of my fries, devoured my cole slaw, except for a bit of the outstanding dressing, and the waitress came over to clear the plates. Then she said, “Are you going to dip your fries in the cole slaw dressing?” I looked up at her as if that were a foreign concept to me. Honestly, I hadn’t given it a first thought. But I said what the heck…and boy, I am GLAD I DID! What a great combination! She said, “Yeah, I do that all the time!” I suggested that they sell an order of fries topped with the amazing cole slaw. Yes…it was THAT GOOD.

So if you stop by the Georgetowner and see that on the menu, remember where you heard it first! 

And, I have to say, the price was right! I had a sandwich, fries, and a diet coke, Holly had a full meal and a beer, and our bill was 20 bucks. Service was outstanding and we felt right at home here. We’ll beback to the Georgetowner, and soon.

The Georgetowner Draft House is located  at 215 S Main Street in Fortville, Indiana. You can find them online at http://www.georgetownerdrafthouse.com

Leave a Reply

