Kunkels Drive In, Connersville, Indiana

Kunkels Sign

A friend recently recommended that we try Kunkels Drive In, in Connersville. That’s not a town we got to on a regular basis, but our business took us there recently, so we decided to give it a try.

Kunkels is a true slice of Americana. Small town, family owned drive in, with great food and service. It’s one of those places I stepped in and immediately felt at home.
The Drive In has curb service, and they also have a small dining room. We opted to eat in the dining room, as it was rainy and gloomy outside, and also because I’m not a huge fan of eating in the car.

We had a very brief wait for a table, 5 minutes or so, and were promptly seated as the 1st table became available. Our waitress was friendly and professional, and, more than that, was knowledgeable about the menu. Of course, I wanted to try the tenderloin, and she assured me that they were hand-made, in house, so I was sold.

Kunkels Loin
I like this tenderloin quite a lot! It’s not so big as to be overwhelming, but big enough to be satisfying. It’s pounded out thin, but not TOO thin. It’s, perhaps, just a bit thinner than I prefer, but still, it’s thicker than many of the tenderloins out there.

The breading was very good indeed! It was nice and crunchy, and stayed crisp. The sandwich wasn’t greasy at all. The meat was fresh, and while not the absolute best I’ve ever had, again, it was quite good. The sandwich was dressed exactly as I requested it.

All in all, I’m going to give Kunkels tenderloin a 4 out of 5 bites. It’s well above average and I’ll certainly get it again.

For my side, I ordered onion rings, and they were something else indeed! Light breading, done perfectly, these were some of the best onion rings I’ve ever had.

For her dinner, Holly had pulled pork with cole slaw and krinkle cut fries. She likes to get the pulled pork at a new restaurant and uses that as a “gauge” for the other menu items. She is happy to report that this pulled pork is a keeper! Tender shredded pork with a sweet and smoky sauce – delicious! And the fresh, seasonal strawberry pie was the perfect ending to a delicious meal!

Kunkels Drive In is located at 2402 N Park Road in Connersville, Indiana. I was unable to located a web site for them, but they do have a Facebook page.

Leave a Reply

