McGilvrey’s Pub and Eatery, Indianapolis, Indiana. (Speedway)

J.E._McGilvery_s_Pub_and_Eatery

McGilvrey’s Pub and Eatery is a racing-themed bar/restaurant on the West side of Indianapolis, in the town of Speedway.  I’ve known of McGilvrey’s for quite some time (I used to live on the West side), but didn’t have a chance to visit until last week.

It’s nicely appointed in race decor, and it’s larger than it looks from the outside.  We visited on a weeknight, when the weather wasn’t very good, and expected it to be empty, but it was pretty well packed. It was obvious that nearly everyone there were regulars, as they obviously knew each other by name.

Their menu offers their “famous” hand breaded tenderloin in two sizes, a large and a baby.  I opted for the large.

Tenderloin edited photo

The sandwich was obviously hand breaded and the meat was fresh and tender.  Sadly, there just wasn’t much flavor to either the meat or the breading…it was quite bland.  Don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t a BAD tenderloin…it just wasn’t especially good.  It was also pounded out VERY thin, which isn’t my preference.

It was served as I requested (Onion, mayo, and ketchup) and I opted for the standard side of chips.  All in all, I’d give the sandwich a 3.  It’s average, and, personally, I wouldn’t order it again.  But if you prefer a thinner, less seasoned tenderloin, you might find this to your liking.
My wife had a pub salad and breaded mushrooms.  The salad was pretty basic – chopped tomatoes, shredded cheese, and a slice of radish here and there.  The Italian dressing was really good.  The breaded mushrooms were very good.  You can get them with a side of ranch or marinara.

A couple of things left this visit less than stellar.  First, the service was not that great.  It wasn’t terrible, but it wasn’t especially friendly nor prompt.  I had to flag our waitress down after the meal, after waiting a while for our check, to actually get our check.

Secondly, it’s a smoking establishment.  I’m not really sure how that happened, because I thought all of Marion County was non-smoking.  But, there were a LOT of smokers in the bar and it detracted from our overall experience.

McGilvrey’s is located at 3009 N High School Road in Indianapolis.  I couldn’t locate a web page for them, but they do have a Facebook page.

Leave a Reply

