Zeke’s Hot Chicken, Carmel, Indiana

Zekes sign

Zacky’s Hot Dogs is a place I’ve been wanting to try for quite some time now, on the recommendation of several folks who thought I’d enjoy their tenderloin. The opportunity hadn’t presented itself until last week, when I was having lunch with my friend Shawn Brown and I were having lunch to discuss a couple of upcoming projects.

I pulled up and was pretty sure I was in the right place, but it said “Zeke’s Hot Chicken” instead of “Zacky’s Hot Dogs”. Although they’re owned by the same folks, they apparently are capitalizing on the hot chicken craze and have rebranded.

Upon entering, it appears that hot chicken is king here. From what I saw other folks ordering, it’s obvious that folks are coming for the hot chicken, although they’re also known for their gourmet hot dogs. They obviously have a VERY loyal following. Although we had an early lunch, it was absolutely packed by the time we started our meal. I’m going to give a special shout out to the staff…they were just as nice and sweet as could be. For a while, I thought I was at some diner down in the hills of East Tennessee instead of Carmel, Indiana….it was that homey.

Several folks have told me that they have a stellar tenderloin, so I decided to give it a try. I wasn’t disappointed.

Rick and Zekes

This is a very large sandwich, but not pounded out too thin. The meat is moist and tender, and the breading is quite good! It’s nice and crisp, and it stays that way throughout the life of the sandwich. It was served on the standard bun, and dressed as I requested. One downside ­ they use diced onions instead of sliced onion, which is my preference. The bun was plain, and wasn’t toasted.

I’ll come short of saying this is one of the best tenderloins in the Indy area, but I WILL say it is well above average. I’ll give it 4 out of 5 bites and wouldn’t hesitate to order it again.

Zeke’s Hot Chicken is located at 1315 S Rangeline road in Carmel, Indiana. You can find them online at http://www.zekeshotchicken.com

3 thoughts on “Zeke’s Hot Chicken, Carmel, Indiana

  1. Just went here last night…I think it worked for me slightly less than it did for you. I Yelped it at 3-stars. You mention the bun – that bun really detracted for me. The slab o’ meat was solid, but that bun was just sort of present. I’ve had worse, but I was thinking of my last tenderloin where they’d toasted it and just doing something minor like that helped so much. Of course, I was also reviewing the overall meal – I found the crinkle cut fries not far removed from Ore-Ida and the overall price point a tad high (recognizing that it’s Carmel…everything’s a tad higher!). It wasn’t bad, but it’s not a place I would likely visit again. I did like the sandwich’s consistency throughout the meal!

Leave a Reply

