Glory Days Restaurant, Clay City, Indiana

We were in western Indiana to do a 5k, and I knew that I wanted to try a tenderloin in the area.

My friend and cousin Casey Winningham had recently been to the Glory Days restaurant in Clay  City, Indiana, and since that was just a few miles from the event, we thought it would be a nice way to recover.

Clay City bills itself as the “Mayberry of the Midwest” and I think that’s pretty accurate. It’s a small town with a business district surrounded by farmland. There are a few restaurants, and antique shop or two, a couple of gas stations, and so on.

Glory Days exterior clay city indianaUpon pulling up to Glory Days restaurant, the first thing we saw was a huge mural on the side of the building, and an old police car, quite similar to the Mayberry Squad Car parked outside.

Upon entering, we were almost overwhelmed, in a good way. It’s quite like a living museum.  There is stuff all over the place. Old barber shop posters, board games, memories from the oldhigh school, and much, much more. None of it matches, and it’s all just kind of stuck here and there, wherever there was an empty space, but it makes for a very pleasant visit.

Glory Days inside

They have a large menu, with sandwiches, a steak or two, appetizers, and more. We seldom get appetizers, but we decided to splurge this day, and got a small order of wings, and, let me tell you, they were outstanding! Crisp and meaty and the sauce had a nice “zing” to it. I highly recommend them!

I looked at the menu for a breaded tenderloin, and didn’t see one, although I saw a grilled one. I asked our capable waitress, and she said “It’s called The Chopper” and pointed it out to me.

IMG_20160521_131756_234Except…it’s not “really a tenderloin”. It’s a breaded pork chop. Granted…they DO point that out on the menu, but it’s not quite the same thing. By the way, if you want a further explanation, here’s a link: http://www.thekitchn.com/a­complete­guide­to­pork­chops­meat­basics­208638

Since it’s not a real breaded tenderloin, but a breaded pork chop, I’m not going to rate it on my normal scale. What I WILL say is that it was very tasty. The meat was tender and moist, and I liked the favor of the breading quite a lot, and it did stay crisp throughout the life of the sandwich. I would not hesitate to order it again!

For her lunch, Holly ordered a bacon cheeseburger – and reports that it was very good. The highlight of her meal was the generous serving of homemade potato chips. What a treat!

I’ve got to say, this meal was a bargain. We got an appetizer to share, sandwiches with sides, and we each had a piece of sugar cream pie (which was absolutely amazing!!) for dessert, and our total bill was just a shade over 25 bucks before the tip. I highly recommend a visit here.

Glory Days is located at 802 Main Street in Clay City Indiana. I was unable to locate a website for the restaurant.

2 thoughts on “Glory Days Restaurant, Clay City, Indiana

Leave a Reply

