Peppy Grill, Indianapolis (Fountain Square)

peppy-sign

There are a few places in Indianapolis that have attained legendary status, and I believe that Peppy’s Grill is one of those.

Located in the Fountain Square area, it’s been an institution for as long as I can remember.  Back in the 80’s, I occasionally had to make an overnight run to Indianapolis for work, and Peppy’s was our go to place for a 3AM breakfast.  As good as the food was, the people watching at that time of the morning was just as good…perhaps better.

Peppy’s, and places like it, are forerunners of places like Denny’s and Waffle House  (two of my favorites), 24 hour a day diner type restaurants that serve good, cheap food,  None of it is gourmet, none of it is especially healthy, but, boy, is it satisfying.

Peppy’s has the magic that a diner SHOULD have.  I’d a little bit run down, it shows some wear and tear, but it also shows a special kind of magic  you can’t find anywhere else.

The menu is pretty basic…hamburgers and cheeseburgers (called cheeseburgs), grilled ham and cheese, a ribeye steak, biscuits and gravy, and such.  It also offers both a grilled and a breaded tenderloin.

I rather suspected this might be a fritter, but I decided to chance it anyway.  After all, we were at Peppy’s and I wanted the full experience.

peppy-loin

I’m happy to report that it’s not a fritter after all, but a true tenderloin.  It’s a solid piece of meat.

It’s pounded out thinner than I prefer, but the flavor was pretty good…not outstanding, but pretty tasty.  The meat I found to be just a bit on the dry side, but the breading was nice and crispy and stayed that way through the life of the sandwich.  The sandwich was nicely seasoned, and served dressed as I requested.

This isn’t a great sandwich, but it’s not bad either.  I’m going to give it a 3.5 out of 5 bites.  Although when we return I’ll likely order a cheeseburg, this certainly is a better sandwich than what a lot of restaurants pass off as a breaded tenderloin.

For my side, I chose the sour cream fries.   These are more like potato wedges with some sort of sour cream sauce on the side, and boy are they tasty!  I highly recommend these.
Holly chose the classic cheeseburg and sour cream fries.  The patty is preformed and a little on the dry side, but for the price, you can’t go wrong with this meal!

Peppy’s Grill is located at 1004 Virginia Avenue in Indy.  They don’t have Facebook, Twitter, or a website…which is part of their charm.

One thought on “Peppy Grill, Indianapolis (Fountain Square)

Leave a Reply

