Manley’s Irish Mutt,  Indianapolis 


Manley’s Irish Mutt is an institution on the East side of Indianapolis.  Located near 10th and Shadeland, in what appears to be a largely mixed industrial/retail area, they do a thriving blue collar business.

I have a special affinity for neighborhood bars, and it’s an added bonus if they are a little bit on the divey side.  Manley’s certainly fits this bill, so I felt right at home the minute I walked through the door.

We were meeting a group of Geocaching friends for dinner (Hi, Judie, Janie, and Jay!!) and this was a convenient place for us to meet, plus I’d been told they have a very good tenderloin.

This is a pretty large bar, essentially one huge room.  There’s a stage, and some TV sets but not enough to be distracting.  We were dining early (4:30PM) so we had no problem getting a table for 5, but by the time we left, the place was hopping!

It’s pretty standard bar fare on the menu.  Pizza, burgers, tenderloin, a Rueben, and such.  Of course, I was there to try the breaded tenderloin (as did 2 others in our party.)

Served on a nicely toasted bun, the sandwich was served dressed as I requested.  The breading is nicely seasoned, with nothing overwhelming the flavor of the meat.  They’re hand breaded in house, and the meat is, for me, the perfect thickness…not too thick, not to thin.  Both texture and taste were spot on.  This is a 5 out of 5 bites for me, really, really good.  Both Jay and I agreed that we liked the fact that while it’s a hearty sandwich, it’s not hubcap sized.  Bigger is not always better.  Well done, Manley’s.

For my side, I chose tater tots, and they were quite good indeed.  I believe they’ll be my side of choice when I return.

For her dinner, Holly chose a classic cheeseburger and tater tots.  She requested her burger medium, and it came out a little more on the well done side, but it was still fresh and juicy – dressed as requested.

Manley’s Irish Mutt is located at 7041 E 10th street in Indianapolis.  I was unable to locate a working website for them, but they do have a Facebook page.

4 thoughts on “Manley’s Irish Mutt,  Indianapolis 

Leave a Reply

