Scotty’s Brewhouse, Southport. (Indianapolis)

Scottys South

Scotty’s Brewhouse is a Central Indiana institution.  Scott Wise opened his first restaurant in 1996, when he was just 22 years old.  His story is certainly worth reading on their website, http://www.scottysbrewhouse.com.  I’ll just say I’m fond of his business model, community involvement, and his commitment to hiring folks with disabilities.  There are several of his brand around, and we always enjoy the chance to visit.

They menu is fairly typical bar/gastropub fare…burgers, sandwiches, and the like, with more than a few surprises thrown in.  I’m a HUGE fan of their burgers, but a visit to their northside location a several years ago left with a less than stellar impression of their breaded tenderloin, so I decided to concentrate on their burgers from there on out.

However, we were meeting a friend (and fellow geocacher) for dinner in Southport last week, and I saw a hand breaded tenderloin on the menu.  I thought to myself “This looks promising”, and when I questioned our server, she affirmed that it was, indeed, hand breaded in house.  With that piece of info, I opted to give it a try.

IMG_20170829_174125147

As you can see, it is indeed hand breaded!  The seasoning has just a touch of a kick to it…enough to give it a very good flavor, but not enough to overwhelm the flavor of the meat.  The meat itself was tender and moist.  While not the absolute BEST tenderloin piece of meat I’ve ever had, combined with the tasty breading, it is certainly well above average.  On my scale of 1-5 bites, I’ll give the Southport Scotty’s Brewhouse a 4 out of 5 bites…very good indeed, and one of the better tenderloins on the south side of Indy.

The sandwich was served as I requested, although I’d have preferred a bit more onion…but that’s a minor detail.  the waffle fries were very tasty indeed, and I’d recommend them as a side dish.
Scotty’s Brewhouse can be found online at http://www.scottysbrewhouse.com  and also on Facebook and Twitter.

One thought on “Scotty’s Brewhouse, Southport. (Indianapolis)

Leave a Reply

