Drake’s, Indianapolis

drakes

Drakes is a bar/lounge/restaurant on the north side of Indianapolis, in the Keystone at the Crossing area.

It’s a fairly upscale place, located in a strip mall that’s a mix of other restaurants and retail stores.  They actually have a dress code after a certain time. (9PM if I recall correctly)

We’d been on the road pretty much all day, playing 2 gigs in 2 separate towns, and were tired and hungry, and were looking for a place to relax and have dinner before heading home.

Perusing their menu, the have quite a few sushi choices on their menu (Which we didn’t recall from our first visit there), traditional pub fare, and a few surprises.

I mentioned to our waitress that I was disappointed there wasn’t a breaded tenderloin on the menu, and she told me it was on their special Oktoberfest menu and got that menu for me.

Being Oktoberfest, this is a German influenced tenderloin…and not quite traditional.  The menu description says “Fresh, never frozen pork, hand breaded and golden fried, on a toasted pretzel roll with caramelized onions, iceberg slaw, parmesan-garlic mayo and pickle chips”.

Regular readers will know that I’m a traditionalist…I like traditional, Indiana tenderloins without a lot of fancy fixings, but…this looked intriguing, so I decided to give it a try.

IMG_20170930_193419224.jpg

The breading is quite good…and quite peppery.  Personally, I liked that a lot.  I believe the abundance of pepper is part of the German influence.  In SE Indiana, every tenderloin I’ve had in a German restaurant has been very peppery.  If you’re a fan of pepper, you’ll likely like It, too.  If pepper is not your thing…you might want to pass on this one.  The caramelized onions were a nice twist on traditional onion slices.  The iceberg slaw and parmesan-garlic mayo gave yet another layer of texture and flavor.

Since this is a non-traditional sandwich, I’m not going to rate it on my standard 1-5 scale.  Instead, I’m going to say it was very good.  Would I order it again?  If I were looking for something a little different, absolutely, I would.  I wouldn’t want one every day, still…it was a really nice change of pace.  If you’re a bit more adventurous about your tenderloins, I believe you’ll be quite happy, indeed, with this sandwich.

This sandwich is priced at 13.00 and that includes your choice of sides.  I chose the house made, crinkle cut fries and they were simply outstanding.

For her dinner, Holly chose the Sushi of the Month special, which was a Spicy Tuna Poke Bowl.  Having never tried this before, neither one of us knew much about it.  But after a little bit of research and information from our waitress, Holly thought she would give it a try…and boy, was she glad she did!  A poke (pronounced PO-kay) bowl can be accurately described as deconstructed sushi.  Take all the components of your favorite sushi roll, unwrap it, put it in a bowl, and you’ve got poke.  This particular offering had fresh (flown in the same day) yellowfin tuna tossed with citrus ponzu sauce, sushi rice, pickled radish and carrot, avocado, wasabi mayo, Sriracha, fresh jalapeno, wakame and toasted macadamia nuts. It was incredibly fresh and flavorful, and Holly reports that she would not hesitate to order it again!


Drakes is located at 3740 E 82nd Street in Indianapolis.  You can find them online at http://drakescomeplay.com/category/drakes-indianapolis/

Leave a Reply

