Pat Flynn’s Pub, Indianapolis

Pat Flynn’s Neighborhood Pub is one of those places that seems to have a VERY loyal following, despite the fact that I don’t recall EVER seeing them advertised anywhere.  I was only vaguely aware of them until we ended up meeting some friends there for dinner this weekend.

I found a few folks who had been there before, and they simply raved about their food and prices.  Most of them recommended their burgers or wings, but I couldn’t wait to get there and see if they had a tenderloin on the menu.

This is another one of those strip mall places that is very deceiving on the outside…it looks small and cramped, but when you enter, it simply opens up to a very large dining area, separate bar area, and a game room for kids of all ages, including pool, darts, and several skill cranes.

The service is prompt and friendly, and the menu is varied….everything from typical pub fare, to steaks, seafood, and several daily specials.  I found their prices to be quite reasonable compared to most other places in the area.

Of course, I chose the breaded tenderloin.  Before ordering, I asked the waitress how it was, and she said, “wonderful”…so I had high hopes.

I wasn’t disappointed.  The breading was wonderfully crisp and flaky, and the menu states that they get their meat fresh daily from the local butcher shop.  There wasn’t a piece of gristle to be found in the entire sandwich, and the meat was as tender as any piece I’ve ever had.  The breading stayed crisp and flaky throughout the life of the sandwich, and the cornmeal flavor of the breading perfectly complimented the mild flavor of the meat.

The waitress was attentive and brought the condiments exactly as I ordered them, with a nice, ample slice of onion.  The bun was fresh and nicely toasted.

The price?  A bargain.  Pat Flynn’s breaded tenderloin goes for $5.95, and that includes chips.  Fries will cost you $1.00 more, onion rings, $1.50.  I opted for the rings and I’m glad I did…they were crisp on the outside, nice and tender on the inside, just like onion rings should be.  I highly recommend spending the extra $1.50 for them.

Pat Flynn’s holds it own against any restaurant in town.  There’s no way I can even consider giving this less than a 5 out of 5…as good as it gets.

I’ll go on to say that everything looks good on the menu.  Holly had a spinach melt and she said it was the best she’d ever had.  Wonderful atmosphere, great service, and a complete menu…I’ll certainly go back here.

And as much as I’d like to try something different from the menu, as good as this tenderloin was…I’m not sure that I will.

Pat Flynn’s is all ages, non-smoking, and is located at 5198 Allisonville Road in Indianapolis.

5 comments

  1. +1

    big fan of Pat Flynn’s – I also recommend their specials… and I find it hard to not order the Shepherd’s Pie (great deal, interesting mix of ground meat and pieces of a roast)

Leave a comment