The Ale Emporium, Indianapolis, Indiana. (Castleton)

The Ale Emporium is located in one of what seems to be a thousand strip malls in the Castleton area of Indianapolis.  From the parking lot, it appears to be an average sized place with a nice outside dining area that has a couple of very nice outdoor firepits.

Upon stepping inside, though,  I was struck by just how HUGE this place was.  It’s multi-leveled, with a bar area, dining room, and a massive back room that has a well appointed stage, and there are flat screen TVs all around.  They appear to feature live music Thursday through Sunday nights, and it is a smoking, 21 and over only venue.

The decor is dark woods…mostly cherry and walnut, it appears, and their 4 page menu lists everything from burgers to pizzas  (Which a regular told me is better, even, than Bazbeaux), salads, and several delicious looking desserts.

I was there for a special music event, and, of course, had to review the tenderloin while I was there.

The menu lists it as a beer battered tenderloin, my favorite, and it was certainly good.  The sandwich is huge, and served on a nicely toasted bun.  The breading is crisp and the meat is flavorful, albeit a bit on the dry side.  The sandwich was served with the exact condiments I ordered  (mayo, onion and ketchup) and they condiments were plentiful.

The breading it self, as I mentioned, was crisp, but…well, a bit bland.  I would’ve expected a little flavor of the beer to come through, but it didn’t.

The meat was pounded thin, but not TOO thin. This is certainly a hearty sandwich and a complete meal in itself.  The sandwich is priced at $8.95 and that includes one side. I choose fries, and they’re skin on, perfectly done fries.

I can’t think of anything really bad to say about this sandwich, but, unfortunately, I can’t think of anything outstanding to say about it either.  It’s a good sandwich,  and certainly better than a lot of sandwiches in town, but certainly not the best.  After considering it overnight, I’m going to give The Ale Emporium’s Breaded Tenderloin a 3.5 out of 5 bites.  It’s above average and certainly worth a try, even if it’s not a “knock your socks off” type of sandwich.

The Ale Emporium is located at 8617 Allisonville Road in Indianapolis,  and you can visit them online here.

4 comments

  1. I love your blog! If you get a chance, you should check out Alcatraz downtown. They have a pretty interesting tenderloin that they call the “hoosier.” I wasn’t a big fan, but it was different, at least.

Leave a comment