Edward’s Drive In, Indianapolis

Let me start this out first of all by saying this place is FUN!  From the decor, the the friendly and helpful staff, to the music playing, it’s, quite simply, a fun place to eat.

Edward’s started as a Dog n Suds Drive In, in 1957.  In 1972, the Edwards dropped the franchise and became sole owners of the business.  In addition to the drive in, Edwards has a thriving catering business, catering corporate events, weddings, family reunions, and much more.

When we entered, a cheerful counter girl said  “Have you been here before?”, and when we said no, she said  “Let me make some suggestions to you…”  and she stepped us through the menu.  And, it’s quite a varied menu, from draft root beer to burgers, chili dogs, and much more.

Since they proudly boast of their jumbo tenderloin on their sign, I ordered the Breaded Tenderloin Basket, which includes cole slaw and your choice of fries or onion rings, for $8.95.

As you can see from the picture, the tenderloin is HUGE.  It’s pounded  thin, but not TOO thin, and covered with a nice, even coating of breading.  It was served on a toasted bun exactly as I ordered it, with Mayo, Onion, and Ketchup.

There are a couple of things that make this a good…a better than average..tenderloin, yet keep it from attaining greatness.
First of all, the meat, while flavorful, was a bit on the dry side.  In my opinion, a tenderloin sandwich should be moist, not dry, and while not arid this one WAS on the dry side.  Secondly, the breading was a bit on the bland side for my taste.  Not terribly, again, but just enough to keep it from being a great tenderloin.  And, lastly, they serve chopped/diced onions on their sandwich instead of slices.  In my book, it’s gotta be onion slices.  Still, all in all, it was a pretty good sandwich.  I’m going to rate it a 3, which is above average.  It’s worth a stop if you’re in the area, but I wouldn’t drive across town for it.

That said, I MUST say a word about the Onion Rings.  These, folks, were OVER THE TOP outstanding.  I can’t remember when I’ve had a better order of Onion Rings.  I live a long way from Edwards, but I’d make the 20 mile drive in a heartbeat for another order of their Rings.  Their burgers looked oustanding, also, and although I was a bit disappointed in their Breaded Tenderloin, I’ll go back for a Burger and Rings.

Edwards Drive In is located at 2126 S Sherman in Indianapolis, and you can visit them online here.

9 comments

  1. Gotta agree with you on Edward’s Onion Rings. I grew up in Beech Grove, and Edwards just very well may be the main reason I am overweight! lol
    The tenderloin is decent enough to satisfy your tenderloin craving, but the onion rings help make up for it’s shortcomings.
    Great blog you have here, can’t believe I never found it before!

  2. I think you’re way too kind in your review of the tenderloin, but you’re right in those are some of the best damn onion rings I’ve ever had.

    • Drive up the street to the Main Street Diner for a real, hand pounded, hand breaded tenderloin, then grab the onion rings from Edward’s. now THAT is a meal.

      • I have driven 3 hours to have there tenderloin

        What the address of Main Street Diner?

  3. I just watched the Edward’s episode of “Man vs. Food”. Edward’s is a childhood memory for me and I wanted your take on them. I need to make a return visit. Thanks, Rick.

  4. Tenderloin too dry!!!!!! Root beer down sized noooo!! Fries cheap was a great place not anymore

Leave a comment